A Farewell To Cancer, Farewell To Mom

The first time I can remember hearing the word ‘Cancer’ was when I was in Jr. High School. My grandmother was diagnosed with breast cancer. Her doctor convinced her he could ‘Get it all.’ if she had a mastectomy. So, Nana agreed. I believe he removed her spunky spirit when he removed her breast. And, he did not “Get it all.” Nana died when I was in High School.

1968-pepe-nana-oad

When I think of all the people who, since Nana, have died from cancer I get a sick feeling in my stomach. The mother and father of my best childhood friend, another good friends mother, a couple of neighbors, several friends and co-workers and today, my mother.

mom-October 2, 1931 to January 18, 2014149_n

The number of people who I know who have had cancer and gone through treatment and survived is staggering and too many to name.

7 (2)

I use to believe a cure for cancer was close. I use to have hope. Now I don’t. I don’t believe the cure for cancer will never be released. It may have already been discovered years ago. When I consider all the diseases science has conquered in my lifetime, it is impossible for me to believe cancer isn’t on that list. But then I think about the size of industry that is devoted cancer research and treatment and I get cynical. It’s easy to see how finding a cure is counterproductive to the search for a cure and detrimental to it all is the announcement of a cure for cancer.

Just imagine the staggering number of people who would be instantly out of work if a cure for cancer was announced today. Oh, sure, some would go on to research other diseases, but not many if you consider the big picture.
Scientist, Doctors, Hospitals, Pharmaceutical Companies, Medical Equipment Manufacturers, Therapists, Holistic Healers, Fashion Industry, Fund Raisers and on and on and on, would all out of work.

The never-ending search for a cure for cancer may just be one of the largest employers in this country. I am tired of hearing about the search for a cure. For almost ¾ of my life I have heard some mention of finding a cure for cancer every day. Oh how I would love to turn on the TV, radio or computer and see “Cure For Cancer FOUND!!” I have lost hope.

It was determined several years ago that breast cancer is hereditary. My grandmother died of it and today my mother died of it. I do not believe the cure will ever be announced in my lifetime so it’s likely I will die of it too.
sunset-athens
If there is a heaven or here-after, I hope my mother made it there and she is finally at peace.
Give my love to Nana for me mom.

nanas-cactus-4-19-13-630

Leave a Reply

